My Yelling Face

I should be sleeping, but my brain will not shut off, so hopefully getting this out will help.

Today was not a horrible day, but we did have some rough patches. Around dinner time, it was as if someone had flipped a switch, and my entire disposition changed. I wish I knew what happened, so I could prevent it from occurring again; however, I am human, and sadly, I am sure this was not the last time.

I was crabby and on edge. Nothing I did made it better. Of course, that seemed to be the exact time the girls (or more specifically Anne) decided it was time to test me. Sometimes I wonder if they can feel me struggling and are struggling too as a result of my energy. I know they feed off my energy, and today I gave them a huge heaping of negativity.

The last few hours of the day seemed like an eternity. I had to yell and threaten loss of items, to get any chores accomplished. I went as far as setting the timer, and informing Anne that whatever was left on her floor when that bell rang, was going in the garbage. She knows I have hit my limit when the timer comes out, because she learned the hard way that I will throw stuff out.

Before bed Anne came to me with her magna-doodle, and told me she had drawn a picture of me. She climbed in my lap and showed me this. I put our conversation on there, so I will always remember my yelling face. Yelling FaceTears sprang to my eyes, and I asked her if I could take a picture, so mommy could remember what I look like when I yell. She said: “Yep!” Then she erased it, made some check marks, and a happy face. She hugged me and said: “Dere mom, now you happy.”

Anne and I seem to be butting heads more than usual lately. Although there are times she exasperates me, I can always count on her to tell it like it is. I swear my great-grandmother is whispering in her ear, because my little girl is a mini version of her. Gram always did keep me in line, perhaps that is Anne’s gift too.

Tomorrow I will do better. If for some reason I don’t, then I will apologize (like I did today) and make sure that my girls know how much I ALWAYS love them.

 

Have a blessed day everyone, and don’t forget to smile. ♥

Creative Commons License
Serenity Spectrum is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

 

3 thoughts on “My Yelling Face

  1. Well, think of it like this. Your kiddo feels safe enough to talk about her feelings with you. Not all kids have that. So, tomorrow will be better. That is all we can do in this life. Try to make each day better than the last.

    I know that crabby mood that can happen on a turn of a dime. I started putting some essential oil on the bottom of my feet that is formulated to stabilize the mood and cut stress, and it really works. There are helpers out there that are not pharmaceutical. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I want them to always feel safe to express themselves. It was not something I had much of my life, I spent a LOT of time being who I thought people wanted me to be from a very young age, so I want them to be THEM and always feel good about it.

      What oil do you use for stress? I am looking into getting a starter kit, and would love to know what oils others use.

      Like

      • I understand where you are coming from. I lived like that for many years myself.

        For stress I am using doTerra “Balance” – but you don’t need to use one of the MLM reps. You can get it right on Amazon. It is the same exact stuff and works great. We diffuse it when stress is up, but we also put a drop on the bottom of each foor, at the direction of our doctor.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

