Happy Birthday Jesus

This year we did something different for Christmas, we celebrated Jesus’s birthday.

Since finding Al-Anon; and building a relationship with my Higher Power, whom I call God, my outlook on life has changed. I do not come from a religious family, but I want my children to have a good spiritual base. One of the ways I am building their foundation, is by having bible study everyday in school. Another way is to teach them about Random Acts of Kindness; and helping others, simply for the joy of knowing you made someone’s life better with your thoughtfulness.

With our more Christian approach to life, we had a birthday party for Jesus on Christmas day. We had the Nativity scene set-up in the middle of the table, and each girl got a cupcake with a candle to sing Happy Birthday to Jesus. Even our parents joined in the singing. I love that even when they don’t understand/agree with us, they still participate for the kids.

After we sang, it was time for the girls to give their gifts to Jesus. We pulled up the World Vision gift catalog, for them to pick-out their gifts. This year we decided to give an animal to a family in need. Beth gave a share of an alpaca, and Anne gave 3 ducks as their birthday gifts to Jesus. It is something small, but their gifts will help two families have it a little easier in the coming year.

I think our first year having a birthday party for Jesus was a success. I cannot wait to see what next year’s party will consist of. I am proud of my girls willingness to give to others, and the joy I see in Beth when she does something that “makes God proud” or “makes God happy.” Her words are simple, but potent. One Day At A Time, we are being the change we want to see in the world.

Have a blessed day everyone, and don’t forget to smile. ♥

Creative Commons License
Serenity Spectrum is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

