Let It Go

It is hard to believe that we are in the middle of the week already. This week seems like a blur of good , bad and a LOT of in between. As a Stay-At-Home-Mom, I am used to my children fighting. Although, as an only child, I must admit that most of it completely baffles me.

Yesterday was a rough day for us, and finally in the afternoon I had to give up and say we will try again tomorrow. I talked to a few homeschool friends about it, and they knew exactly what was wrong; I keep thinking of homeschool like public-school. I have this preconceived notion from my teaching days, and am trying to make that happen here. In order for us to be successful, I have to Let It Go.

Let It Go

While I felt as though I was pretty relaxed about our school days, I realized that I have a long way to go before I am where I thought I was.  We are homeschooling to help the girls learn in the best way for them.  In order for that to happen, I need to stop trying to control everything, and let them lead the way. Yes, we will need to cover certain subjects, but there are countless ways to learn things.

Going forward, I have to stick to my plan of having an outline for the day, but letting the girls lead the way from point A to point B. They make awesome teachers, and I must remember that. Tomorrow is a new day, and the possibilities are endless.

Have a blessed day everyone, and don’t forget to smile. ♥

 

Creative Commons License
Serenity Spectrum is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

