Brief Intermission

I have been on a journey to get healthy since February 2013, when I was at my heaviest weight (aside from pregnancy). I weighed 293 pounds, and knew I had to do something to become healthier, and be the mom my children deserved.

Last summer, I developed tendonitis in my shoulder, and my rotator cuff hurt with any movement. The pain, and physical therapy were the excuse I used to stop exercising. Soon after I began stress eating, and my journey hit a roadblock.

In January 2014, weighing 269 pounds, I recommitted to my healthy journey, because I was tired of being in pain and exhausted all the time. Up until a few weeks ago, I was very conscientious of my food choices, using MyFitnessPal to track everything that went into my system. I was also working out for 30 -70 minutes a day, five days a week, doing both cardio and strength training. I was down to 226 pounds, which was 21 pounds from my third goal, and half-way to my fifth (and final) weight loss goal.

Last week, I was back up to 230 pounds, due to my lack of workouts and overindulgence in comfort foods. Aside from weighing-in weekly, I also do monthly measurements. As of July 28,2014 I had lost a total of 32.5 inches (neck, arms, mid-section, waist, hips and thighs). Every month I do my measurements and take photos for my journal. Tomorrow is measurement/picture day, but I am considering skipping it this month, to reduce some of my self-abuse, which I know will come when I see the numbers have gone up.

I can tell by the way clothes are fitting, that some inches have come back, with the few pounds I have found again. The pain in my back and knees make me aware that this exercise hiatus has done some real damage, and set me back physically. I am considering this very stressful month a brief intermission, and will be starting the third act of my journey on September 2nd. I lost focus, made excuses, and could not find my motivation to get back on track; however, as I sit here bonding with my heating pad, because my back is locking up and I am in horrible pain, God has helped me find my motivation again.

On September 2nd, our first day of homeschool, I will begin teaching my girls about the importance of physical fitness. The best way for me to teach them, is to show them, and have them join me. Fortunately they love Leslie Sansone’s Walk Away The Pounds dvds, and like to exercise with mommy. So every day we will have our exercise time; then I will also be working out with my weights in the morning or evening, when they are fast asleep. Time to start showing my girls how much happier mommy is when she eats right and exercises. Our brief intermission will be coming to an end shortly.

Have a blessed day everyone, and don’t forget to smile. ♥

 

 

Creative Commons License
Serenity Spectrum is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

